Iran is a Middle Eastern country located in southwestern Asia that until 1935 was referred to in the West as Persia. The name Iran is a modern cognate of Aryan meaning the Land of Aryans. Iran borders Pakistan (909km of border) and Afghanistan (936km) to the east, Turkmenistan (1000km) to the northeast, the Caspian Sea to the north, Azerbaijan (500km) and Armenia (35km) to the northwest, Turkey (500km) and Iraq (1458km) to the west, and finally the waters of the Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman to the south. In 1979, a revolution led by the Ayatollah Khomeini established a theocratic Islamic Republic, which makes the present full name of the country Islamic Republic of Iran

 States/Provinces Of Iran