The Republic of Paraguay is a landlocked republic in South America. Lying on both banks of the Paraguay River, it borders Argentina to the south and southwest, Brazil to the northeast and Bolivia to the northwest. The name Paraguay is derived from the Guarani words pará, meaning river and guay, meaning this side. The expression in Guarani is thought to refer solely to Asunción, but in Spanish refers to the entire country.

 States/Provinces Of Paraguay